‘Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.’
-Maria Robinson

Beginnings are funny things, aren’t they? Beginnings are endless; every task begun will have a task within it, with a task within that and on and on, ad infinitum. Life is the eternal Droste effect, my friends, and we would do well to remember that there are no true endings but also no true beginnings. It is merely continuation.

Next month I graduate from my undergraduate degree, but come September will continue my studies at postgraduate level. It is an ending, yes. I will be leaving my friends and tutors and the familliarity of the University where I have spent the last three years. However, it is also a beginning. I will be a Graduate; I feel, as I did when I was preparing to enter University, that the world is my oyster. I can do anything I set my mind to.

I am excited to continue studying, but again it poses an interesting Droste-related question. Is this a true beginning? Am I extending my knowledge on a greater level, or am I focussing it into a smaller area of research? Within and without.

Today I begin a new blog, not just to welcome in the new things in my life, but to pack away the old safely, ready for the day when I realise they never truly ended.

