The man who goes alone can start today; but he who travels with another must wait till that other is ready.
-Henry David Thoreau

Every knitter, by varying degrees, will suffer from the afflication known as ‘startitis’.  This is the moment in which all works in progres are abandoned in favour of casting on a new project or five.  It is not confined to knitting of course, but it’s progression is easier to track here due to the piles of partially completed projects scattered around a room.

Those knitters taking part in The Harry Potter Knit/Crochet House Cup suffer from this more often than most because every month we are presented with, at minimum, six potential projects, and a convenient excuse to cast them all on right now.  In Ancient Runes this month I have drawn the letter E.  E could stand for Eiffel, which could stand for the Eiffel Tower Shawl in my previous post, which involves another opportunity to indulge my competitive nature.  Why is this a problem, I hear you ask.  I’ll tell you.

I promised myself that I would not cast on anything new until I have finished at least the back piece of my Mountain View cardigan.  It is beautiful and I’d hate to have it consigned to the WIP basket.  Which means I have to keep knitting.  It is in fingering weight on 3.5mm needles, and I have to knit 19.25″ just to get to the armholes.

Willpower is all I need.  I cannot make a yarny journey to Paris until the Mountain is ready to come with me.  We’ll see how long this plan lasts.

