‘Tis absense, however, that makes the heart grow fonder.
– Miss. Stickland 

It has been quite a while, hasn’t it?  Did you miss me?

Since my last post I have been pretty busy.  I completed both my Mountain View cardigan and the long-queued Tilted Duster jacket, though the cloudy North of England still hasn’t provided me with decent weather to photograph either of them.  You’ll just have to wait in suspence for that one.

Apart from that, I have not knitted as much as you might expect.  Certainly not as much as I expected.  I think I needed the rest from yarn – the last term of the HPKCHC wore me out a little.  On the other hand, I have cast on Matilda Jane by the lovely Ysolda Teague in Ravenclaw blue and silver for the upcoming release of Deathly Hallows.  I have also been making steady progress on Rivendell by Susan Pandorf.  Really, this one should be going much faster than it is, but I have the option of using 5 fairly slippery DPNs or magic looping it, since those are the only needles in my stash.  Sadly, I find magic loop awkward and it keeps sliding off the DPNs.  I’ve gone ML to save the stitches, but it has slowed down my knitting considerably, as I have to readjust the loop every ten stitches or so.

I have also been planning my OWLs for next term.  Although I am eligable for a NEWT, I don’t think I am really ready for one.  Until I have completed two OWLs for two terms in a row, I will not even consider something that huge.  For now, I will be doing a Potions OWL: the Ravenclaw Pride socks by Ann Kingstone in as-yet-undetermined yarn, and a Defence OWL: the Riding to Avalon hoodie by Connie Chang Chinchio in RYC merino DK.  Forest green with wooden buttons.  It’s going to be beautiful.

Further progress shall be announced when I have made some.  For now, I just pray that the temporary absence of knitting in my life will make me more fond of it when September rolls around.

