I did it!  I got a perfect bronze and a near-perfect blue for my potions OWL.  It took a while, and I still think the blue could be darker, but I’m happy enough with the contrast.

My yarn came in the post yesterday.  Two skeins of Zitron Trekking Undyed.  I could have bought just the one, of course, and got ready-dyed blue sock yarn, but for some reason it felt important to use the same yarn for both parts of the colourwork.

Zitron Trekking Undyed

 

I spent most of the morning on the bronze and hung it out to dry while I got started on the blue (which had been mordanting while I worked).  Unfortunately, while I was going on with this we had a little… visitor.  A squirrel.  An apparently nesting squirrel, who wanted to ‘borrow’ my yarn.  He got pretty close to it too, before I managed to scare him off.  Here he is, for example, tightroping his way across the washing line my yarn was drying on:

In his spare time he robs banks.

I brought the yarn in soon afterwards, as the heavens opened and soaked everything in sight.  I finished off the blue and hung them both up the garage to drip.  They’re pretty dry now, actually, so they might be ready to swatch with tomorrow.

Soar Ravenclaw!

What do you think?  Personally, I think this is the closest I’ll ever come to a perfect Ravenclaw combo, particularly when hand-dying.  I can’t wait to get started.

