For those of you who do not know, today was the release date for the A-level results in the UK. Thousands of teenagers across the country entered schools, sixth form colleges and online directories to discover whether they have their coveted place at University (I am making an assumption, of course. Not everyone wishes to go to university but their results day is equally scary). Today, my brother picked up his. And did very well indeed.

In celebration, today I do not bring you knitting, or sewing, or even progress on the still-at-sea dissertation. Today I bring you baking.

This is tri-colour marble cake (chocolate and vanilla, with red colouring), decorated by hand (by me) to represent the 4 A-levels my brother took. Maths, further maths, physics and ICT. He loves it. I’m pretty pleased with it too.

Mmmm cake…

