Tags

, ,


Really.  I haven’t posted anything in months, and it’s not like I don’t have anything to say.  So what have I been up to since January?

Well first of all, I did indeed finish the Snapdragon Tam.  I love it, but the yarn grew more than I expected so it’s a little bigger than it should be.  On the upside, it now fits perfectly over my handy-dandy headphone earmuffs, so that’s lovely.  It means I can still listen to music while keeping my head extra-toasty.

Aren’t the colours lovely?  It’s super comfortable too.  Alison, can I just thank you once again for the fantastic yarn.  I will definately be buying more of it in the future.


I’ve also dipped my toes into wire knitting.  It’s really not as uncomfortable as I expected (more comfy than knitting with cotton, actually), but I’m still not really converted.  I think I’ll cling to my yarn for now.  Still, I got some nice earrings from the experiment.


I’ve also begun test knitting Morrigan by the brilliant and talented Folk.  I love this pattern.  It is amazingly quick, very addictive and so intuitive I have to force myself to pay attention to the pattern (since, you know, that’s sort of my job when I’m test knitting).  I zipped through the first glove in only 4 days of knitting (with a week’s break in the middle to deal with work stuff) and am now making very fast progress on the second.

The yarn is Freyalyn’s Fibres and Yarns Whitefaced Woodland Sockyarn in the colourway Tulip.  I didn’t like it all that much in the skein, but in both ball and knitted up I absolutely adore it.  I think this is another dyer I’ll be stalking in the future.


On that topic, I’m very much looking forward to seeing Alison, Freyalyn and Katie of HilltopCloud (one of my first friends at the HPKCHC) at WoolFest  next month.  I’ve managed to gather my family together and book a lovely cottage in Cumbria, so although I’ll be traversing WoolFest itself alone, I will be going down with some really fantastic people that I love spending time with.  Even if I do already live with most of them.

I’m busy with the Cosmo Bag from Amy Butler’s Style Stitches for the occasion.  I suspect it might just be big enough for most of the stuff I’ll buy while I’m there.  I have about 1m of Hummingbird Fabric left over from my ereader cover last year, so I’m hoping to eke out enough yardage from that for this, but I’ll see how it goes once I’ve managed to source the interfacing (not the easiest thing with only one haberdashery department near my UK home.  And differences in terminology – urgh!)


Anyway, I hope this post finds you all well and I will really do my best to be a bit more frequent in my posts from now on.  There is really no excuse for how lax I’ve been.

